Guest Blogger: The UnWorthey Dad

*I hope you enjoy this great guest blogger! When I heard about his story, I knew I had to reach out to him!

unwortheydad.wordpress.com

Tale of Two Family Photos

I started a journey a little over a year ago now. Back in November 2013, I found out that I am a Type 2 diabetic, my cholesterol numbers were not where they should be, my blood pressure was through the roof and my triglycerides were over 500. All of these were not new problems. I had dealt with blood pressure issues previously as well as recurrent migraines and sleep apnea.

I had another number that was plaguing me – my weight.

I weighed in at 361lbs. The family pic below shows me at my heaviest.

fampic1

Things had to change. I had dieted before and actually lost close to 90lbs only to gain it all back. I decided to go off plan around the holidays and never got back on track. I felt so defeated. I felt like everyone that had congratulated me before on my weight loss was only talking about the weight gain now. I was sure of it. I would need to do things differently this time around. Besides, I had 3 of the best reasons in the world to make a change – my wife and daughters.

Because of the issue with the diabetes, I chose a low carb plan and stuck to 20 carbs or less a day in the beginning. Some people saw it as an extreme diet, something that would not be sustainable in the long term, but I knew it was something I had to do. It was going to be extreme. I was considered morbidly obese so I had to take extreme measures. I was taking a handful of pills every morning and I had two goals at this point – lose the weight and lose the pills!

I saw results quickly – in three months, I had already lost 60lbs! By this time, many people had really starting noticing, giving me compliments, and asking questions. I’d get the usual, what are you doing to lose it? Once, I explained I usually got the crazy looks of there’s no way. I started getting people telling me that I had inspired them or similar sentiments. I never saw myself as being inspiring. I just saw myself as this stupid man that had made himself fat and sick and had to do something about it now.

It’s now a year later and I’m down a total of 113lbs to a weight of 248lbs and I have a new family picture to show off.

fampic2

In one year’s time, I have cut all my numbers down to normal levels (my A1C went from 9.0 to 5.0 and my triglycerides from 530 to 74 – I’m proud of those). I’ve also gone from taking 4 pills for my diabetes to only one a day. I’ve gone from size 5x shirts, 50 waist pants to 2x shirts and 38 pants! I’m also proud of those numbers too! I can shop it the normal size clothes section again.

I get asked all the time “how did you do it” or “how can you help me”. I wish I had some awesome advice or plan to give people. I found what worked for me and I made up my mind that I was going to stick to it. That was my plan. It hasn’t always been easy; it hasn’t always been fun, but I’ve stuck with it.

There was a quote that kept me pushing on:

“Don’t let the fear of the time it will take to accomplish something stand in the way of your doing it. The time will pass anyway.”

I didn’t want to wake up a year later and still be at 361lbs. I’m looking forward to where I’ll be next year!

 

Check out more from the The UnWorthey Dad

One thought on “Guest Blogger: The UnWorthey Dad

Leave a Reply

